Beef Stroganoff

Ingredients:
1 lb Ground Beef (you can use sliced beef too, cut into bite-size pieces)
1/2 cup White Onion, diced
1 clove Garlic, minced
2 cups Button Mushrooms, sliced
1/4 tsp Salt
1/4 tsp Black Pepper
1 tsp Dill
1/2 tsp Cardamom
1 cup Sour Cream
1/4 cup Butter
1/3 cup White Wine (Pinot Grigio)
1/2 cup Beef Broth

Egg Noodles, cooked al dente, drained

Directions:

  • In a large Skillet, melt the Butter and add the Onions, Garlic, and Beef.
  • When Beef is browned, add White Wine, Beef Broth, Spices and Mushrooms. Let cook down for 5 minutes.
  • Add the Sour Cream and incorporate into the whole mixture.
  • Season to Taste (you can add more Dill or Cardamom if desired).
  • Serve over Egg Noodles.

Variations:
Substituted Ground Chicken or Ground Turkey to cut down on the fat.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://deaghaidhrecipes.wordpress.com/2008/11/11/beef-stroganoff/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I think I might just try this recipe in the near future. Thanks for sharing!

  2. James does the sauce end up with a strong taste of sour cream? I’ve been looking for an alternative recipe, the last one I tried all you could taste was sour cream I like all the flavors to come together.

    • I’ve never tasted too much sour cream in this, but also with the cardamom and dill, they moderate the taste of the Sour Cream. I’d also suggest using a non-fat Sour Cream because it is not as strong–my guess is the fat content carries some of the flavor.

  3. I’m intrigued by the cardamom in this recipe! Is that traditional, or did you choose to add that?

    • I’ve seen some recipes with it and some without. I like it myself, and that’s why I use it. I think it adds something to it. I’m not really sure Beef Stroganoff is really an “authentic” version from Russia… which had potatoes and tomatoes.


Leave a Reply

